category: Campus News

Four announce retirements from Carson-Newman

Those announcing retirements from Carson-Newman this spring stand with University President Charles A. Fowler (right). Pictured with Fowler are (left to right): Dr. Ernie Walker, Phyllis Hoover, Dr. Susan O’Dell Underwood, and Lynda Hill.

Four Carson-Newman faculty and staff members announced retirements this spring. The group, which was honored during a special campus reception, represents 111 years of combined service to the University. Those retiring are:

  • Lynda Hill, assistant registrar – 39 years
  • Phyllis Hoover, global education coordinator for International Services – 25 years
  • Dr. Susan O’Dell Underwood, professor of English – 32 years
  • Dr. Ernie Walker, assistant professor of Education – 15 years

“One of Carson-Newman’s greatest strengths is its faculty and staff,” said University President Charles A. Fowler. “They are devoted to seeing our students succeed and reach their full potential as educated citizens and worldwide servant-leaders. Hundreds of Carson-Newman students and alumni are testaments to the dedication and service of these four who have announced retirements. The Carson-Newman family is grateful for them and wishes them well.”

Previous Post

Carson-Newman University presents highest faculty, staff honors

Next Post

FCS Annual Banquet Celebrates Students

Related Posts

  • Campus News

    Carson-Newman nursing receives scholarship support from Jefferson Memorial Hospital

    Representatives of Jefferson Memorial Hospital were on Carson-Newman University’s campus recently to present a $1,000 check toward student scholarships within the school’s nursing program. “Every year Jefferson Memorial celebrates physicians […]

  • Campus News

    A look at Commencement 2024

    Congratulations Class of 2024! Your alma mater celebrates with you.

  • Campus News

    Commencement celebrates graduates, Robert Reedy Society inductees

    Carson-Newman University announced four inductees into the third class of the Robert Reedy Bryan Society. The recognition took place during C-N’s May 3 Spring Undergraduate Commencement, which awarded degrees to […]