category: Academics

FCS Annual Banquet Celebrates Students

Carson-Newman Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) student Hannah Carr, left, stands with Sharon Blair of “Blair’s Interior Designs” at the University’s FCS Honors Banquet. Carr received this year’s Department of FCS Award, while Blair was named the AAFCS Student Group Distinguished Service Award.

Carson-Newman University’s Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) Department recently held its annual honors banquet. The banquet celebrates students and the generous donations that enable them to access a Christian, liberal arts-based education that may not otherwise be possible. The event honored students with scholarships and awards for their achievements.


Sharon Blair; Morristown, TN; AAFCS Student Group Distinguished Service Award 

Edee Bunch; Jefferson City, TN; FCS Medal 

Hannah Carr; Sevierville, TN; Department of FCS Award  

Laurel Davis; Mount Holly, NC; Roberts Dietetics Award 

Ashlyn Nickels; Rutledge, TN; KON New Initiate Award of Excellence

Naomi Rinck; Sevierville, TN; FCS Alumni Award 

Mackenzie Robinette; Jonesborough, TN; Braden FCS Award 


Masterson-Collins Scholarship 
Kasandra Adkins; Bean Station, TN 
Chloe Caylor; Sevierville, TN 
Ashley Chupp; Bristol, TN 
Brandy Lawson; Rogersville, TN   
Ashlyn Nickels; Rutledge, TN 

Barbara Bible Scholars Scholarship 
Brandy Lawson; Rogersville, TN 
Mattie Johnson; Morristown, TN 
Grace Akard; Maryville, TN 

Frank and Jane Orr Hinchey Scholarship 
Hannah Carr; Sevierville, TN 
Mattie Johnson; Morristown, TN  

Simms Foundation Scholarship 
Kasandra Adkins; Bean Station, TN 

Lida Pearl Connatser Memorial Scholarship 
Chloe Caylor; Sevierville, TN 

Kitty R. Coffey Endowed Scholarship for Family and Consumer Services 
Angela Moore; Morristown, TN 

Walter and Elizabeth Peugeot Memorial Scholarship 
Ashlyn Nickels; Rutledge, TN  

Barbara Ann Farmer Hughes Scholarship
Brooke Riggs; Nashville, TN 

Barbara Mason McDougal Endowed Scholarship 
Maci Lindner; Dandridge, TN 

Evelyn S. Simpson Scholarship
Ashley Chupp; Bristol, TN 
Emma Bowling; Montgomery, AL 

Ethel Reed Watters Scholarship 
Alexander Gadd; Knoxville, TN   

Orlena Wagner Scholarship
Emalee Jones; Sneedville, TN 

Previous Post

Four announce retirements from Carson-Newman

Next Post

Five inducted into Robert Reedy Bryan Society during Spring Commencement

Related Posts

  • Academics

    New credential to help “set C-N graduates apart on job market”

    Carson-Newman University’s Department of Family and Consumer Sciences received approval to offer child and family studies graduates the eligibility to receive the Certified Family Life Educator (CFLE) credential. The credential […]

  • Academics

    Historic archeological dig connects Judean Desert to East Tennessee

    A child-sized ring, measuring only about 1 cm. in diameter, tells the story of a distant past, but also the future of a university program.  The gold circular object inlaid […]

  • Academics

    Carson-Newman, FBC Mt. Juliet, Mt. Juliet Christian Academy, partner in new Nashville Education Center initiative

    During a special celebration held on the campus of First Baptist Church Mt. Juliet, Carson-Newman University and Mount Juliet Christian Academy announced a new initiative that paves the way for […]