category: Athletics

C-N inducts eight into Athletics Hall of Fame

Carson-Newman inducted eight new members into its Athletics Hall of Fame during a ceremony Friday night on campus. 

The 22nd induction class saw the induction of Tyler Baldock (Men’s Soccer, 2007), Kyle Gribble (Men’s Basketball, 2004), Jessie Howard (Softball, 2011), Chris Jones (Football, 2011), Allen Morgan (Baseball/Administrator, 1968), Claire Ramsdale (Women’s Soccer, 2006), Gary Rundles (Baseball Coach, 1985-00), Tyrone Westmoreland (Football, 1998).

The inductees were also recognized during the Eagles’ men’s and women’s basketball games the next day against Lenoir-Rhyne. 

Class of 2023

Tyler Baldock, men’s soccer (2007): Tyler Baldock left his stamp on the Carson-Newman men’s soccer program as a three-time All-American goalkeeper. He backstopped the Eagles to four straight regular season SAC titles, a tournament title and a regional title. He spent time playing professionally with the West Virginia Chaos, Vancouver Whitecaps FC and Abbotsford Mariners. He is the Carson-Newman and SAC record-holder for career shutouts with 36, his 0.75 career goals against average and 51 wins are also Carson-Newman bests.

Kyle Gribble, men’s basketball (2003): As Carson-Newman’s first NCAA All-American for men’s basketball, Gribble guided the Eagles to a pair of SAC regular season crowns, a tournament championship and an appearance in the NCAA Sweet Sixteen in 2002. Gribble scored 1,472 points in his C-N career and added in 694 rebounds. He was named SAC Player of the Year in 2003 after leading the Eagles to a 20-9 record and their second consecutive SAC title.

Jessie Howard, softball (2010): The Carson-Newman softball program’s all-time leader in runs scored (210) at the time of her nomination, Howard is also the all-time leader in stolen bases (143) and second all-time in hits (287). She is one of nine players in program history to finish her career with a batting average north of .400. Howard helped C-N to the NCAA regionals all four years of her playing career and the program’s lone super regional berth in 2009. She was a two-time All-SAC selection and earned All-America honors in 2008.  

Chris Jones, football (2011): The Carson-Newman football program’s longest-tenured NFL player, Jones spent the entirety of his playing career with the Dallas Cowboys from 2011-2020. Jones’ powerful leg delivered four of the 10 longest punts in C-N history, including a 73-yarder against Winona State in 2009. Jones’ 40.3 yards per punt average is the second most among four-year players. For his career, he landed 46 punts inside the 20-yard-line and made 20 punts of at least 50 yards.

Allen Morgan, baseball/administrator (1968): A member of Carson-Newman baseball’s 1965 NAIA National Championship baseball team and the vice president for Athletics for the University from 2012-2018, Morgan stewarded a department that made 32 trips to NCAA tournament play among its teams and saw another 25 student athletes qualify for championship play as individuals. Morgan, a former Knox County superintendent, saw both men’s and women’s soccer programs earn spots in their respective national title games, and Carson-Newman’s first individual national champion in track and field since 1978. The athletic department finished 21st in the 2018 Learfield Director’s Cup standings, its highest finish at the time of Morgan’s nomination.

Claire Ramsdale, women’s soccer (2007): A four-time All-SAC selection and 2004 All-American, Ramsdale registers in the top 10 of six career statistical categories for the women’s soccer program. Ramsdale was a member of two NCAA Final Four teams and helped guide the Eagles to three SAC regular season crowns, a pair of tournament titles, and the NCAA tournament every year of her Carson-Newman career.

Tyrone Westmoreland, football (1998): Westmoreland wrapped up his Carson-Newman career as a two-time All-SAC selection, the league’s offensive player of the year in 1996 and an All-American. In 1997, he became Carson-Newman’s first Harlon Hill Trophy Finalist, the Division II Heisman trophy. With 3,388 yards rushing, Westmoreland is the program’s sixth all-time leading rusher. He helped guide the Eagles to four straight SAC titles, four straight NCAA playoff appearances, and the Eagles’ first berth in the NCAA Division II title game in 1996. 

Previous Post

MLK event invites community to break bread, discuss leader's legacy

Next Post

Carson-Newman programs rank No. 2 in Tennessee says U.S. News & World Report

Related Posts

  • Athletics

    Eagle Archers welcome first signee

    Carson-Newman University’s archery program signed its first team member on March 28. Dillon Burnette of Loudon High School is the inaugural member of Eagle Archers. Burnette crafted his archery skill […]

  • Athletics

    Eagle Anglers land second place at Strike King Bassmaster College Classic

    Carson-Newman University’s Eagle Anglers captured a second-place finish at the Strike King Bassmaster College Classic presented by Bass Pro Shops. The event was held on Watts Bar Reservoir. Carson-Newman’s Hayden […]

  • Athletics

    NATIONAL CHAMPS! Eagles bring three national championships home to Mossy Creek

    The Carson-Newman Eagles captured three national championships in three days. Track and field’s Makanakaishe Charamba and women’s swimmer Manon Compagner took first place in their respective national competitions. Compgner’s title […]