category: Campus News

Omicron Delta Kappa chapter inducts 14 new members

Those inducted into Carson-Newman’s ODK chapter included, left to right standing: Dr. Ross Brummett, Brianna Bloomer, Brooke Fillmore, Maddie Reynolds, Christina Farmer, Rachel Hicks, Louis Murray, Meredith Hawkins, Aiyana Martinio, Ashley West, Jenna Bryan, Brooke Sanderson, and Cody Lehgeber. Seated are Mary Kania, left, and Kiyana O’Neal.

(May 12, 2015)—Carson-Newman University’s chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) inducted 14 new members at its initiation ceremony Thursday, April 30.

ODK members named junior communications major Kiyana O’Neal president and junior nursing major Mary Kania vice president during the ceremony.

The national leadership fraternity also inducted Dr. Ross Brummett as an honorary faculty member. Brummett serves as vice president for Student Affairs.

New initiates also include: Brianna Bloomer, junior business administration and fashion merchandising major; Jenna Bryan, senior elementary education major; Christina Farmer, senior psychology major; Brooke Fillmore, junior child and family studies major with emphasis in early childhood education; Meridith Hawkins, junior biology and pre-med major; Rachel Hicks, senior religion and communication major; Cody Allen Leihgeber, senior graphic design and photography major; Aiyana Martino, junior communications film and linguistics major; Louis Murray, junior biology major; Madeline Reynolds, junior nutrition and dietetics major; Brooke Sanderson, junior nursing major; and Ashley West, junior psychology major.

Since its founding in 1914 at Washington and Lee University, Omicron Delta Kappa has emphasized superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character for undergraduate students. The first college honor society of a national scope to honor meritorious leadership, extracurricular service and general campus leadership, the organization seeks to develop holistic leaders on campuses and throughout society.

Carson-Newman’s chapter is co-advised by Dr. Laura Wadlington, ODK faculty advisor and chair of the University’s Psychology Department, and Nenette Measels, ODK faculty secretary and director of Campus Ministries.

Previous Post

University honors those announcing retirement

Next Post

University honors those announcing retirement

Related Posts

  • Campus News

    C-N named a “College of Distinction,” marks 10th straight year for award

    For a tenth straight year Carson-Newman University is named a “College of Distinction.” The 2024-2025 honor comes from Texas-based organization, Colleges of Distinction. The company cited Carson-Newman’s dedication to fostering […]

  • Campus News

    New grant to bolster program, “help students fulfill calling, purpose”

    A new $50,000 grant to Carson-Newman University will support students in their development as servant-leaders; a goal pulled directly from the school’s mission statement. The Capacity-Building Grant comes from The […]

  • Campus News

    University recognized for supporting community college transfer students

    Transferring from a community college to a four-year school can be daunting. But according to Carson-Newman University’s Jamie Hamer, the experience doesn’t have to be. “We try to remove obstacles […]