category: Alumni

Former Eagles All-American competes on America’s Got Talent

America’s Got Talent, and so does Carson-Newman alumnus and former Philadelphia Eagles fullback Leonard “Bishop” Weaver. Weaver is one of a 12-person vocal group that wowed the judges of the NBC show. Known as the NFL Players Choir, the ensemble is comprised of current and former NFL players, which along with Weaver, includes Demarcus Williams, Tully Bunta-Cain, Michael Gaines, Bryant McKenzie, Isaiah McKenzie, Cameron Newton, Steve Pierce, Nick Roach, Bryan Scott and Willie Yarborough.

The group left an impression on the judges with their rendition of Bill Withers’ classic, “Lean on Me.” The NFL Players Choir garnered “yes” votes from Simon Cowell, Heidi Klum and Sofia Vergara.

Weaver earned Division II All-American honors in 2004 while at Carson-Newman. He went on to play for the Philadelphia Eagles in 2005 and was voted First Team All-Pro for the 2009 season. He was selected to the 2010 Pro Bowl as a starting fullback.

Be sure to watch AGT’s Season 17 to follow the progress of Weaver and the NFL Players Choir.

Previous Post

Summer makeover: Butler Hall project focuses on improving C-N’s welcome center

Next Post

Statement from President Charles A. Fowler

Related Posts

  • Alumni

    C-N celebrates outstanding alumni during Annual Awards Ceremony

    During homecoming week, Carson-Newman University celebrated alumni who represent their alma mater with distinction during its annual Alumni Awards Ceremony on Oct. 24. Alumni recognized demonstrate the traits of those […]

  • Alumni

    Beloved former C-N professor named to TICUA Hall of Fame

    Joe Bill Sloan, a 1967 Carson-Newman alumnus, is a 2023 inductee to the Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association (TICUA) Hall of Fame. The organization announced that he is one […]

  • Alumni

    Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame honors coaching legend, C-N alumna

    University of North Carolina coaching legend and 1974 Carson-Newman alumna, Sylvia Hatchell was recognized again by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. Hatchell, a 2013 Hall of Fame Inductee, is […]