category: Campus News

University recognizes 24/7 service during Resident Assistants Appreciation Week

Carson-Newman says “thank you” to its resident assistants during RA Appreciation Week. Pictured are members of Carson-Newman’s resident assistants staff.

(April 7, 2015) — Carson-Newman University is taking a week from April 13-17 to thank its resident assistants for serving the school and its students.

“I would categorize resident assistants as the cream-of-the-crop of Carson-Newman because their jobs are 24/7 and it is constant involvement with frequent sacrifice,” said Marilee Betz, Residence Life coordinator for Burnett Hall. “Often [it interrupts] friend-time because they have to do program planning, or maybe it’s time to go home because they’re on-duty working to keep the buildings safe.”

During Resident Assistant Appreciation Week residence life staff encourages the campus community to thank resident assistants with social media “shout-outs,” handwritten notes and emails. Across campus, the University will treat RAs to free drinks in Maples Café, free snacks, a free breakfast and more.

Betz said people often overlook the amount of work the nearly 50 resident assistants do on top of their other responsibilities as students. RA Appreciation Week is a reminder of their sacrifices.

“We as a professional staff are really grateful for what resident assistants do and recognize in many ways that Carson-Newman wouldn’t be Carson-Newman without their leadership,” Betz said. “They bring the fun and life to the buildings and make it home for the 1,200 students living on campus.”

Anyone can thank Carson-Newman’s resident assistants by visiting the following link and leaving a message of appreciation:

Carson-Newman resident assistants:

Michaela Willoughby
Krista Ellis
Rebecca Henson
Grace Boone
Kristyn Roden
Melonie Wagner
Katherine Moore
Anna Bauder
Ashley Barton
Clark Hasler
Joseph Swearingen
Hannah Anthony
Christina Seale
Kayla Payne
Bevan Brown
Chelsea Buchanan
Madison Leonard
Kendra Ivins
Bailey Taylor
Amy Stokes
Augusto Gil
Tyler Johnson
Josh McDowell
Stephen Vivrett
Jay Inman
Hogan Brock
Jacob Weaver
Nick Harmon
Brendan Dunn
Jordan Elliot
Nicholas Davis
Joe Lesser
Camden Winzenburg
Alexander Griffith
Austin Taylor
Jacob Higdon
Michael Oppizzi
Jordan Beaty
Matthew Riddle
Andrew Benson
Brandon Row
Mark Issacs
Richard Byers
Allen Williams
Kendra Luketic
Victoria Lowder
Leslie Jurgeluks
Tara Hutson
Marion Hope

Previous Post

Carson-Newman to host orator, author, artist Eric Samuel Timm for April 14 chapel

Next Post

Bonner Center hosts Twin Pillars Banquet, honors service and engagement

Related Posts

  • Campus News

    C-N named a “College of Distinction,” marks 10th straight year for award

    For a tenth straight year Carson-Newman University is named a “College of Distinction.” The 2024-2025 honor comes from Texas-based organization, Colleges of Distinction. The company cited Carson-Newman’s dedication to fostering […]

  • Campus News

    New grant to bolster program, “help students fulfill calling, purpose”

    A new $50,000 grant to Carson-Newman University will support students in their development as servant-leaders; a goal pulled directly from the school’s mission statement. The Capacity-Building Grant comes from The […]

  • Campus News

    University recognized for supporting community college transfer students

    Transferring from a community college to a four-year school can be daunting. But according to Carson-Newman University’s Jamie Hamer, the experience doesn’t have to be. “We try to remove obstacles […]