category: Campus News

Family & Consumer Sciences honors McDougals with Service Award

Carson-Newman University’s Dr. Kitty Coffey, left, and University President J. Randall O’Brien, right, present Sam McDougal and Dr. Karen McDougal Rutledge with the Family and Consumer Sciences’ Distinguished Service Award. The award honors the contributions of Sam and his late wife, Dr. Barbara McDougal.

(April 22, 2015) — Carson-Newman University’s Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) Department recognized the late Dr. Barbara McDougal and her husband, Sam McDougal with its highest honor during its annual honors banquet April 16.

The Carson-Newman University Family and Consumer Sciences Distinguished Service Award is presented by vote of the executive board to individuals who have been of outstanding service to the department in fostering its mission, vision and goals.

The McDougals contributed funding to the FCS Child Development Laboratory, and an FCS faculty office is named for Barbara. They also fund the Dr. Barbara McDougal FCS Scholarship, a merit-based award given yearly to a student majoring in child and family studies.

Barbara McDougal became the first female member of the president’s cabinet at Carson-Newman in 1980, serving as vice president for Student Affairs. She served as a professor and administrator at the University for 30 years, continuing in her service to the school long after retirement. She passed away in January.

Sam McDougal has served the area as a well-known realtor, formerly working as a geologist for the New Jersey Zinc Mining Company in Jefferson City. The couple devoted many hours to volunteer work for organizations such as Appalachian Outreach and First Baptist Church of Jefferson City.

FCS students were honored as well with more than 20 winning awards and scholarships. Scholarship recipients won more than $105,000 combined.

The FCS honors banquet is a celebration of our students, the reason for our being at Carson-Newman,” Kitty Coffey, dean of the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences says. “We celebrate our students with their families, the scholarship donors, the departmental advisory board, and our administration.”

Students receiving FCS awards during the banquet included: Sarah Walker, FCS Medal; Jordan Bronkema, Roberts Dietetics Award; Savannah Weathers, Braden FCS Award; Chelsea Buchanan, FCS Alumni Award and KONu Medal; Madison Wilburn, Department of FCS Award and C-NAFCS Leadership Award; and Emily Wood, KONu Outstanding Sophomore Award.

Scholarship recipients included: Tinsley Tullos, Jennifer Holloway and Brandi Vanhoose, Barbara Bible Scholarship; Genelle Stone, Lida Pearl Connatser Scholarship; Brooke Fillmore, Mary Katherine Dixon and Emily Wood, Frank and Jane Hinchey Scholarship; Emily Collins, Steve Hinchey Scholarship; Phillip Chandler Duckett, Barbara Farmer Hughes Scholarship; Mary Catherine Bowery, Rebecca Henson, Leah Stalcup and Rachel Stankiewitch, Masterson-Collins Scholarship; Bekah Adams, Barbara McDougal Scholarship; Hanna Jones, Elizabeth S. Peugot Scholarship; Hunter Sherwood, Simms Foundation Scholarship; Bekah Adams, Evelyn S. Simpson Scholarship and Orlena Wagner Scholarship; and Bekah Adams, Ethel Reed Watters Scholarship.

Pictured are FCS seniors who attended the banquet. Pictured are Front row: Jordan Bronkema, Madison Wilburn, Courtney Williams, Chelsea Buchanan. Back row: Mariah Saylor, Savannah Weathers, Lara Turley, Maggie Gibson, Alyssa Turley, Rebekah Teaster, Danielle Linebaugh

Previous Post

College Street Festival

Next Post

Carson-Newman students to serve on University's latest Haiti medical mission trip

Related Posts

  • Campus News

    Lemus-Guzman and Tuberville presented Carson-Newman’s Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

    Carson-Newman University announced that German Lemus-Guzman and Aiden Tuberville are recipients of the 2024 Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award. The recognition, announced during C-N’s Honors Convocation, is the highest honor the […]

  • Campus News

    University presents highest faculty, staff honors

    Carson-Newman University presented some of its highest awards to faculty and staff during its 55th annual Honors Convocation on April 18. Those honored during the special event were Dr. Thomas […]

  • Campus News

    Moser Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership Launched at Carson-Newman

    The future of creative enterprise received a boost Tuesday as Carson-Newman University unveiled the new Moser Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership, expanding learning opportunities for both students and the business community […]