category: Campus News

Carson-Newman’s 2012 Faculty and Staff Community Honors Banquet.

Faculty and staff were recognized during the evening for their contributions to C-N and its students as well as their years of service to the institution.

President Randall O’Brien, left, congratulates those earning their 10-year service award which include left to right: Dr. Emma Cody-Mitchell, associate professor of English; Julie Rabun, associate professor of art; Dr. Shannon Collins, assistant professor of English; Dr. Cynthia Lynn, associate professor of nursing; Ondes Webster, director of physical plant; David Tuell, network and systems administrator; Parker Leake, senior director for marketing and communications. Not pictured is Dr. Wayne Ballard, associate professor of religion; Tom Griffin, head baseball coach; Kevin Houk, senior programmer and analyst; Melissa Needs, student employment coordinator.

President O’Brien presents Dr. Kim Bolton, associate dean of the School of Nursing and Behavioral Health with her 15-year service award.


Nenette Measels, director of campus ministries, receives her award from C-N President O’Brien for 20 years of service. Those also receiving the 20-year service award, but are not pictured are Amy Humphrey, director of the Life Directions Center, and Jann Walker, associate director of Undergraduate Admissions.

For their 25 years of service, President O’Brien (left) recognizes Sheryl Gray, registrar; Dr. Greg Hoover, sociology department chair; Dr. Alice McCurry, associate professor of nursing; Dr. Steve Karr, dean of the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics; Dr. Ross Brummett, vice president of Student Affairs; Bill Houston, associate professor of art.

Becky Boatright, C-N’s Human Resources Coordinator is congratulated by President O’Brien for 30 years of service at Carson-Newman.

Dr. Kitty Coffey, dean of Family and Consumer Sciences; Dr. Peggy Hypes, professor of education; and Dr. Diana Carroll, professor of FCS are recognized by President Randall O’Brien for 35 years of service at C-N.

Edra Garrett, director of the Blevins Institute for Spirituality and Mental Health, receives a captain’s clock from President O’Brien for 40 years of service.

Professor of Music Ann Jones is recognized by President O’Brien for 45 years of service.

Carson-Newman recognized faculty members for their performance inside and outside the classroom. Pictured with President O’Brien, left, is Associate Professor of Art Julie Rabun, Mentoring Award; Dean of the School of Humanities Dr. Mary Baldridge, Research Award; Associate Professor of Exercise Science Dr. Michael Shipe, Academic Advising Award. Not pictured is Dr. Ryan Fogg, associate professor of music, Creativity Award.

Previous Post

C-N’s Baldridge will use Grant for Pilgrimage

Next Post

SACS Commission President Belle Wheelan Addresses C-N Grads

Related Posts

  • Campus News

    Samaritan House Family Ministries named Non-Profit of the Year

    Samaritan House Family Ministries was selected as the Non-Profit of the Year for Jefferson County. The ministry is a component of Carson-Newman University’s Appalachian Ministries of the Smokies (AMOS). The […]

  • Campus News

    Carson-Newman takes top honors in national marketing and advertising awards

    Carson-Newman University’s Marketing and Communications Office was among the top winners in multiple categories in the 2022 Collegiate Advertising Awards. The Collegiate Advertising Awards is a national program recognizing higher […]

  • Campus News

    Carson-Newman students spend Spring Break helping others, sharing the gospel

    “God is at work.” That was the consensus following Carson-Newman students’ return to campus after serving on GenSend mission trips. Thirty-six students along with members of the C-N community forwent […]