category: Campus News

C-N’s Delta Omicron Chapter Receives 44th Consecutive Top Honor; Professor Ann Jones also Honored

Recent graduate Sarah Pridemore Hazelwood, Professor Ann Jones, and 2012-13 Alpha Gamma Chapter President Erin Rogers were among C-N delegates at last weekend’s Delta Omicron International Music Fraternity Triennial Conference. Alpha Gamma is the most decorated in the organization’s history, having brought home 44 straight top honors, one for each of year of its Carson-Newman existence.

Carson-Newman’s Alpha Gamma Chapter of Delta Omicron International Music Fraternity received the Award of Excellence and Efficiency from the organization’s board of directors during last week’s triennial conference, held in Lexington, Kentucky.

Alpha Gamma has brought home the premier honor for some four-and-a-half decades straight. The unprecedented 44 year streak reflects the leadership of Professor Ann Jones, who was feted with special recognition for serving as AG’s chapter adviser throughout its history. A cash prize of $50 was presented along with the certificates of honor. A third place award and corresponding check were presented for the chapter’s scrapbook.

C-N student representatives were led by chapter president Erin Rogers, who also served as the group’s business delegate. Other officers included John Kimbrough, first vice president; Landry Duvall, treasurer; Clay Oglesby, music director; and Meagan Sullivan; publicity advisor. Also in attendance were Laura Peper, a 2010 alumna and chapter province president, and recent May graduate Sarah Pridemore Hazelwood.

“We are extremely proud of these talented students and their achievements,” said Jones. “They gathered many new ideas for the chapter and we are especially pleased by the accolades they received at the conference.”

Kimbrough sang and Hazelwood contributed a piano performance as part of a concert that followed the awards banquet. Each had been selected after submitting recordings of their particular offering. Kimbrough studies voice under the tutelage of Jones and Hazelwood studied with Dr. Ryan Fogg.

Other C-N alumni on hand during the conference included Dr. Angela Holder, a music faculty member and AG adviser, and Reverend Fran Truitt Cooper, a Methodist minister from Virginia who led the event’s ecumenical worship service during.

Previous Post

C-N Alum Plans California Concert

Next Post

Jefferson City Resident Presents Home to C-N

Related Posts

  • Campus News

    Carson-Newman nursing receives scholarship support from Jefferson Memorial Hospital

    Representatives of Jefferson Memorial Hospital were on Carson-Newman University’s campus recently to present a $1,000 check toward student scholarships within the school’s nursing program. “Every year Jefferson Memorial celebrates physicians […]

  • Campus News

    A look at Commencement 2024

    Congratulations Class of 2024! Your alma mater celebrates with you.

  • Campus News

    Commencement celebrates graduates, Robert Reedy Society inductees

    Carson-Newman University announced four inductees into the third class of the Robert Reedy Bryan Society. The recognition took place during C-N’s May 3 Spring Undergraduate Commencement, which awarded degrees to […]