category: Alumni

Beloved former C-N professor named to TICUA Hall of Fame

Joe Bill Sloan, left, is congratulated by Carson-Newman University President Charles A. Fowler in 2022 upon being recognized as an inaugural member of the University’s Robert Reedy Bryan Society.

Joe Bill Sloan, a 1967 Carson-Newman alumnus, is a 2023 inductee to the Tennessee Independent Colleges and Universities Association (TICUA) Hall of Fame. The organization announced that he is one of 24 inductees, each representing TICUA member institutions.

“With each new class of the TICUA Hall of Fame, we discover even more of our alumni changing the world, some whose names we know and others we are just now becoming familiar with,” said TICUA President Dr. Claude Pressnell. “Each of the inductees demonstrates how valuable one’s college experience is to your life and the impact a liberal arts education has on molding your future.”

As the son of 1932 Carson-Newman graduates, Sloan was deeply intertwined with the University while growing up. His father, Albert Sloan, served as a professor of mathematics and chief financial officer for 40 years, making Carson-Newman not only the backdrop of Sloan’s childhood but also a central aspect of his identity.

Attending elementary school on campus and working at a local drug store, Sloan developed a strong work ethic from an early age. He viewed these experiences not as work but as enjoyable and formative opportunities.

Carson-Newman played a significant role in Sloan’s life, as his father, mother, aunt, two sisters, brother, and wife all earned their degrees at Mossy Creek. Upon completing his own degree, Sloan joined C-N’s faculty ranks in the History and Political Science Department. Throughout his tenure, Sloan demonstrated excellence in every role he undertook, serving as chair and later as dean of the social sciences division.

Sloan actively contributed to the university for more than four decades. He was invited to join the senior staff as associate provost and later assumed the role of interim president during a challenging financial period and leadership transition.

Despite transitioning to administrative roles, his passion for teaching remained as he continued to advise students on graduation requirements. Upon the selection of a new leader for the University the following year, Sloan returned to his true love: teaching.

Sloan’s commitment to excellence and his impact on the Carson-Newman community earned him several distinguished awards, including the R.R. Turner Spirit of the College Award, the Distinguished Faculty Award, and the Outstanding Student Advisor Award (the only two-time recipient).

In 2022, the University honored Sloan as a member of the inaugural class inducted into the Robert Reedy Bryan Society for his exceptional and meritorious service to Carson-Newman University.

Along with Sloan, other members of the Class of 2023 TICUA Hall of Fame are: Jewel Bell (King University), Melvoid Benson (Lane College), L.D. Campbell (Johnson University), Autry O.V. “Pete” Debusk (Lincoln Memorial University), Dr. Jeff Foster (Southern College of Optometry), Dr. Thomas Garland (Tusculum University), Rusty Gaston (Belmont University), Dr. William Greer (Milligan University), Beth Harwell (Lipscomb University), Bob Jimenez (Southern Adventist University), William Kilbride (Tennessee Wesleyan University), Edward A. Labry III (Cumberland University), Esmerelda Lee (Lee University), James T. McAfee Jr. (Union University), Dr. Betty Sue McGarvey (Baptist Health Sciences University), Bill Morgan (Freed-Hardeman University), Col. J. Christopher Murphy (Aquinas College), Joel Rice (Bethel University), Dr. Morris Stocks (Trevecca Nazarene University), Jerry Summers (The University of the South), George Vogel (Bryan College), Perry Wallace (Vanderbilt University) and Delores Ziegler (Maryville College).

Previous Post

Eagle Archers make statement in first competition, notch two Top 10 finishes

Next Post

New credential to help "set C-N graduates apart on job market"

Related Posts

  • Alumni

    C-N celebrates outstanding alumni during Annual Awards Ceremony

    During homecoming week, Carson-Newman University celebrated alumni who represent their alma mater with distinction during its annual Alumni Awards Ceremony on Oct. 24. Alumni recognized demonstrate the traits of those […]

  • Alumni

    Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame honors coaching legend, C-N alumna

    University of North Carolina coaching legend and 1974 Carson-Newman alumna, Sylvia Hatchell was recognized again by the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. Hatchell, a 2013 Hall of Fame Inductee, is […]

  • Alumni

    Coaching the Federers: Meet the C-N alum who coached the family of a tennis legend

    A new biography on tennis great Roger Federer highlights the relationship the Swiss athlete developed with one of Carson-Newman’s own alumni tennis stars, Marko Radovanovic. In chapter 14 of “The […]