category: Campus News

University recognizes faculty, staff with high honors

Dr. Clark Measels, second from right, receives the 2020 Distinguished Faculty medallion from the 2019 recipient, Dr. Bruce Kocour. Also pictured are University Provost Jeremy Buckner, at left, and President Charles A. Fowler, at right.

(Aug. 13, 2020) JEFFERSON CITY, Tenn. — Carson-Newman University presented the institution’s most prestigious faculty and staff recognitions during an Aug. 13 Faculty & Staff Worship Service and Awards Presentation.

While the announcement of the award recipients took place in April, the pandemic delayed a formal celebration and recognition of these awards. Therefore, the University honored these recipients as faculty returned to campus this fall.

Those honored included Dr. Clark Measels, Dr. Brenda Dean, Nancy Farris and David Tuell.

Measels received the Distinguished Faculty Award, the University’s highest honor given to a faculty member. In addition to being a long-serving professor of music, Measels was director of the Ball Institute for Church Music prior to his retirement this year. He has served multiple times as chair of the Music Department.

Dr. Clark Measels has given so generously, leading to the known excellence of the music department and overall betterment of Carson-Newman. He has served in numerous leadership roles, including chairing three presidential inaugural committees, and as a mentor to not only the many students he’s had in class but to his colleagues as well,” said University Provost Jeremy Buckner. “Clark is an outstanding recipient for this award.”

Repeated within the numerous letters from colleagues nominating Measels for the Distinguished Faculty Award were affirmations of his leadership, servant heart, and deep enjoyment for teaching. Before then-chair of the Music Department Dr. Angela Holder passed away suddenly in 2019, she wrote a nomination letter for Measels.

“I have been familiar with Clark and his commitment to excellence since I was a student here,” Holder wrote. “He is an outstanding teacher, a cherished colleague and an excellent leader.”

Measels holds degrees in musicology, church music and vocal performance and is a fellow of the Salzburg Seminars, where he studied the future of classical music of countries around the world. Measels has served as a state and regional governor for the National Association of Teachers of Singing and served on the national Bylaws and Membership committees.

He additionally served as an accrediting visitor for the National Association of Schools of Music for 20 institutions of higher education. He is also an author, performer, past editor of publications for the Baptist Church Music Conference, and past minister of music.

Nancy Farris and David Tuell were named the 2020 SOAR Award recipients, the highest honor given to staff members. Recipients must have served C-N for at least five years and exhibit passion for furthering the University’s mission, excellence in their job performance, and positivity in their spirit and attitude.

Farris was director of the Child Development Lab for more than 30 years prior to her retirement this year, actively encouraging students entering professions serving those in early childhood, volunteering to lead workshops and participating on various boards. Known for her patience, encouragement and positivity, Farris taught students from preschool to university to fulfill their full potential.

The University’s chief information officer, Tuell has turned aside corporate opportunities, electing instead to support the University’s mission and make a difference within higher education. Colleagues know Tuell for his commitment, problem-solving abilities, forward thinking and patience with those who struggle with technology.

Dr. Brenda Dean, assistant professor of Education, received the Community Service Award in recognition of the manner in which she lives out her faith through service. Dean’s extensive volunteer work includes several ministries with Morristown Church of Christ; local higher education action and advisory committees; Daily Bread, Remote Area Medical and the Ministerial Association Temporary Shelter, all in Morristown; the CEASE Domestic Violence Board of Directors, and as keynote speaker for the Latin American Theological Institute in Guatemala. These are in addition to an extensive list of past volunteer work and funding that she provided for four ministers to receive bachelor’s degrees at a theological institute in Guatemala.

The award includes a $500 donation to the charity of Dean’s choosing, which was the Morristown Church of Christ Barnabus Fund.

Founded in 1851, Carson-Newman is a Christian liberal arts-based university affiliated with the Tennessee Baptist Convention. The University is located in Jefferson City, Tennessee, among the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains and has over 2,700 students. Carson-Newman offers 50 undergraduate majors, as well as associate, bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees.

Previous Post

Carson-Newman awards honorary doctorate to Randy Boyd

Next Post

New faculty welcomed to C-N

Related Posts

  • Campus News

    Lemus-Guzman and Tuberville presented Carson-Newman’s Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

    Carson-Newman University announced that German Lemus-Guzman and Aiden Tuberville are recipients of the 2024 Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award. The recognition, announced during C-N’s Honors Convocation, is the highest honor the […]

  • Campus News

    University presents highest faculty, staff honors

    Carson-Newman University presented some of its highest awards to faculty and staff during its 55th annual Honors Convocation on April 18. Those honored during the special event were Dr. Thomas […]

  • Campus News

    Moser Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership Launched at Carson-Newman

    The future of creative enterprise received a boost Tuesday as Carson-Newman University unveiled the new Moser Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership, expanding learning opportunities for both students and the business community […]