• Carson-Newman's passionate professors went above and beyond to help me navigate through the MAT program. Stimulating lessons like simulations and case studies helped me apply knowledge to real-life situations. As a first-year teacher, I felt more than ready on my first day of teaching 6th grade.
    SAMANTHA STARNES, 2018 / Teacher / Oliver Springs Middle School

Carson-Newman faculty, staff honored for service, excellence

Academics | August 17, 2018

(August 17, 2018) JEFFERSON CITY, Tenn. — During Thursday’s annual Welcome Assembly, Carson-Newman University recognized faculty and staff for length of service, excellence and friendliness, among other attributes.

Carson-Newman President J. Randall O’Brien, pictured at far left in the second row, thanked all assembled for their service and contributions during what marked his final presidential address at a Welcome Assembly. O’Brien announced his retirement, effective in December, last month.

Pictured with O’Brien is: Front row, left to right: Simon Duffy, “Soaring Eagle Award”; Dr. Kitty Coffey, Rebar Award; Dr. Patsy Boyce, 30 years; Dr. Nancy Farris, 30 years; Paula Reagon, 10 years; Sheryl Gray, Rebar Award; Libby Miller, 20 years and “Mother Hen Award”; and Dr. Jean Love, 30 years.

Second row: Dr. Ross Brummett, “Fox Hole Award”; David Tuell, Rebar Award; Shelley Ball, 15 years; Glenda Bales, Rebar Award; Dr. Angela Wood, 25 years; Dr. Christine Dalton, 15 years; Stacy Woods, Rebar Award; and President Randall O’Brien, 10 years.

Third row: Dr. Clark Measels, 35 years; Dr. April Dye, 10 years; Dr. Christine Jones, 10 years; Valerie Owens, 10 years; Wendy Hayes, 10 years; Dr. Angela Holder, 15 years; Dr. Chad Hartsock, 10 years; Dr. Mark Hussung, 25 years; and Ondes Webster, Rebar Award.

Fourth row: Dr. Carolyn Carlisle, 10 years; Dr. Mark Borchert, 15 years; Dr. Mark Brock, 15 years; Charles Key, 20 years; Dr. Jeremy Buckner, 10 years; Dr. Chad Airhart, 10 years; Dr. Bob Trentham, Rebar Award; Kyle Biery, 10 years; and Billy Martin, 30 Years.

Not pictured are: Jerry Calfee, 30 years; Jan Parman, 20 years; Pat Bivens, 15 years; Melissa Hensley, 10 years; Valerie Stephens, 10 years; and Joann Kilgore and Luanna Dickinson, “Crystal Angel” awards.

Founded in 1851, Carson-Newman is a Christian liberal arts university located in Jefferson City, Tennessee, among the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains. The University has over 2,500 students and offers 50 undergraduate majors, as well as associate, bachelor’s, master’s and doctorate degrees.