• Carson-Newman offered me lots of opportunities to get on the stage and execute what I was learning in the classroom and my private lessons.
    Benjamin Archer, 2017 / Graduate Student in Vocal Performance / University of North Florida

University honors FCS students

Academics | April 18, 2018

Among those students recognized during the 2018 FCS Honors Banquet included, left to right: Ashley Kay, Palos Heights, Illinois; Hope Adkins, Church Hill; Sarah Sharp, Lewis Center, Ohio; Sarah Sofia, Limerick, Pennsylvania; Caleigh Kohel, Hartfield, Virginia.

(April 18, 2018) – Carson-Newman University held its annual Department of Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) Honors Banquet April 12 at Stokely Memorial Cafeteria. The Department honored 17 students with 12 different scholarships, some with multiple recipients, and presented five students with eight awards.

The Carson-Newman Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (C-NAFCS) presented the Distinguished Service Award to 1992 alumna Carrie Owen McConkey in recognition of her leadership and service to the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences Advisory Board, for her service to the students through classroom panel participation and professional development presentations, and for generous support of student scholarships.

The Department hosted more than 100 guests including scholarship donors, university administration, faculty and staff, members of the Family and Consumer Sciences Advisory Board, and students and their families.

Donors and representatives included Ray and Barbara Bible (Barbara Bible Scholars), Wendy Royston and Meredith Royston (Walter and Elizabeth Peugeot Memorial Scholarship), Dr. Karen Rutledge, husband Dr. Stephen Rutledge, and daughter Alexandra (Barbara Mason McDougal Endowed Scholarship), Dr. Evelyn Simpson and son, Ed (Evelyn S. Simpson Scholarship), and Susan Tatum and Pearl Williams (Lida Pearl Connatser Memorial Scholarship).

Dr. Diana D. Carroll, Professor Emerita, was presented with the C-NAFCS Lifetime Achievement award in recognition of her exemplary contributions to the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences, Carson-Newman University, and Kappa Omicron Nu.