• The History professors are extremely knowledgeable about their fields and do an excellent job of sharing this knowledge with students in an encouraging way.
    Sydney Nix / C-N Class of 2021

Carson-Newman’s Women of Vision receives Pinnacle Award

Campus News | September 25, 2017

Carson-Newman President J. Randall O'Brien presented Women of Vision member Susan Fendley with the 2017 Pinnacle Award. The honor was given to the organization during the University's annual Pinnacle Dinner.

(Sept. 25, 2017) – Carson-Newman University’s Women of Vision was recognized at the University’s annual Pinnacle Recognition Dinner, Sept. 15. Women of Vision received this year's Pinnacle Award, an honor presented to a person or group that has made financial contributions to the University of $1 million or more.

The group was founded in 2011 to “support the Carson-Newman experience through the pathways of nurturing truth, enhancing beauty and enriching goodness.”

Since then, the organization has grown into a network of partners with more than 500 members and has raised nearly $1 million for campus improvement projects and $50,000 for scholarships. Their efforts have resulted in more than 26 campus buildings being improved with nearly 100 rooms or spaces renovated. Recent projects include contributions to the restoration of the majestic front porch of Sarah Swann Hall.

“Though such an idea would never have been on the radar of any woman in this group, we were indeed honored,” said Kay O’Brien, president of Women of Vision. “To be recognized by our university as being a bearer of good gifts to the mission of Carson-Newman means a great deal to all of us. I love the energy, creativity, passion, and heart of this group of incredible women.

Beyond the Pinnacle Award, other recognitions were presented to Carson-Newman donors and supporters.

Steeple Award:
- Joan Cronan
- William and Linda Viel

Legacy Award:
- Gloria Brown
- Archie and Susan Fendly
- Sterling Owen and Carrie McConkey
- Stanley and Josette Rabun
- Lizann Rex

Centurion Award:
- Agnes Blazier
- Betty and Buddy Catlett
- C. T. and Molly Cozart
- Wayne and Beth Harvey
- Jim Haslam for the Haslam Foundation
- Steve McLean
- Regal Foundation on behalf of David Owenby
- Paul and Michelle Pardue
- Joseph Porter
- Stanley and Josette Rabun
- William and Linda Viel

Swann Medallion:
- Imogene Brewer
- Wallace and Tracy Hall

Henderson Medallion:
- Imogene Brewer
- Clark and Suzanne Denton
- Bobby and Phyllis Tuck