• "I owe so much to Carson-Newman. I received the best preparation for my career, and mentors that continue to advise me after graduation."
    Jane Joyce / EdD, LPC/MHSP / Master of Science in Counseling alum

Alpha Chi honor society chapter inducts new members

Campus News | September 23, 2016

(Sept. 23, 2016) – Carson-Newman University recently inducted 48 new members to its Tennessee Delta chapter of Alpha Chi honor society. The Sept. 18 induction was held in the University's Thomas Recital.

Alpha Chi is an interdisciplinary national honor society open to junior and senior students. Entry is limited to students who are in the top 10 percent of their class and who meet other strict requirements for GPA and residency.

This year's initiates had a minimum collective GPA of 3.77 for juniors and 3.79 for seniors. The society actively promotes academic excellence, undergraduate and graduate research, campus academic dialogue, and civic engagement.

The Tennessee Delta chapter at Carson-Newman has received national recognition as a star chapter for multiple years running. Since 1983, 47 Carson-Newman students have won national scholarships or Region III scholarships when competing at the annual convention.

The local chapter has made a focus of supporting literacy in Appalachia through various fundraising projects.

Alpha Chi inductees for the 2016-17 academic year include:

Mitchell Benjamin, Megan Blankenship, Kieran Braun, Benjamin Carr, David Craig, Elizabeth Dixon, Tori Gaul, Elizabeth Gitto, Taylor Greene, Brianne Hanley, Morgan Harlan, Jessica Hart, Joshua Hawley, Tanner Heath, Duskin Henard, Grayson Hester, Logan Hurt, Shannon Hyder, Jackson Jacobik, Kerri Jones, Chris Justice, Paul Kirby, Jennifer Kittredge, Bethany Lemons, Joseph Lesser, Gianna Liao, Bailey Lohr, Taylor Manis, Madison Martin, Elizabeth Masengil, Caryn Mays, Kathleen Mazza, Tiana Mills, Katelyn Morris, Damilola Oluwalana, Suzannah Parker, Krista Partin, Kayla Payne, Hannah Pierce, Celeste Randall, Victoria Scarce, Susan Schmidt, Sarah Sharp, Sarah Spaulding, Maranda Vandergriff, Aaron Waldrupe, Meagan Watters, William Wheeler.