Home Apply Now!

Event Details

Knoxville Postcards: A Cappella Choir performing with KSO

When: 7:30 PM – 10:00 PM on Sep 22, 2017


The Knoxville Symphony Orchestra will open its 82nd season with a collection of various performers paying homage to our great city. This program celebrating Knoxville opens with Samuel Barber’s “Knoxville: Summer of 1915,” a classical work inspired by the James Agee poem about Knoxville, with spoken word read by Knoxville Poet Laureate R.B. Morris. Joining the Knoxville Symphony will be the University of Tennessee Brass Ensemble for a newly commissioned work by American composer Michael Schachter. The Carson-Newman A Capella Choir will perform Aaron Copland’s Suite from The Tender Land, and the program concludes with Rachmaninoff’s Symphonic Dances, all composers and pieces with ties to Knoxville for this program which pays homage to the city.

All students grades K-12 can attend this concert FREE with purchase of one adult ticket as part of the Penny4Arts program. Up to 3 students per adult ticket; some restrictions apply. Must redeem by visiting or calling the KSO Box Office at 865-291-3310 prior to the day of the concert (M-F, 9-5). Offer not available online or at the door. Questions: boxoffice@knoxvillesymphony.com.

Rankings & Recognitions View All