Home Apply Now!


Organizations & Activities

Luncheon honoring the retirement of Dr. Diana Carroll after 37 years of faithful service to FCS.

Pictured, back row, left to right: Cathy Burchell, retired FCS Administrative Assistant, Tammy Hickle, CDL lead teacher, Cathy Bush, CFS/ECE Program Leader, Kitty Coffey, FCS Department Chair,  Diana Carroll, Retired CS Program Leader, Heather Whaley, FCSE Program Leader, Nancy Farris, CDL Director, Stephen Huff, INTD Program Leader, Kimberly Johnson, Assistant Professor in FND, Front row, left to right: Judy Gooch, former INTD Program Leader, Linda McGoldick, Retired former FMD Program leader, current adjunct in FMD, Sharon Teets, former FCS professor, current professor in Education, and Jerry Day, retired former CDL Director and Lead Teacher.


Spring 2017 Honors Banquet




Pictured left to right: Imogene Brewer, Vicki Butler

C-NAFCS Distinguished Service Award honored Inez Webb for whom the second floor of Byle-Poteat is named. Her cousin, Imogene Brewer received the award for her.




Spring 2017 RCPDResearch, Creativity, and Performance Day 



Carson-Newman Association for the Education of the Young Child (C-NAEYC)

  • Dedicated to service and professional development for Child and Family Studies majors
  • Associated with the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
  • Members participate in activities such as leading story times and center projects for young children in the community
  • Guest speakers provide profession development sessions
  • The Week of the Young Child is celebrated each spring

Advisor: Dr. Lisa Connor

Carson-Newman Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (C-NAFCS)

C-NAFCS is the student unit section of the American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS). As the umbrella organization, each major is considered a "member". The executive board helps provide all FCS majors with service, professional development, social, and special interest opportunities. C-NAFCS officers also help orchestrate the annual FCS honors banquet. Application for membership on the executive board occurs during the spring semester.

Co-Advisors: Dr. Heather Whaley, and Dr. Kimberly Johnson 

Carson-Newman Student Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics  (SAND)

The C-N Student Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (SAND) majors is open to all Food, Nutrition and Dietetics majors. The organization holds meetings monthly and takes field trips to professional meetings and conferences.

Purposes of SAND  are to:

  • give the Food, Nutrition and Dietetics majors the opportunity to explore career options available in the dietetics/nutrition profession
  • provide opportunities for students to make professional contacts through field trips, guest speakers, and meetings;
  • serve as a valuable source for information regarding field experiences, summer job opportunities, and scholarships as well as Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics membership and the Registered Dietitian exam; and
  • facilitate interaction of students with their peers and faculty outside of the classroom.

Co-Advisors: Dr. Kimberly Johnson and Dr. Kitty Coffey

Kappa Omicron Nu Honor Society (KON)

  • The Mission of KON (www.kon.org) is to empower leaders through scholarship, research, and leadership.
  • Kappa Beta Xi chapter membership is open to all majors in FCS.
  • Membership requirements include completion of 8 hours in FCS courses plus 45 total hours, second-semester sophomore standing, and rank in the top 25% of all FCS majors.
  • Benefits of membership include opportunities for graduate scholarships, fellowships, internship scholarships, and local and national leadership opportunities.
  • KON national initiatives include an on-line Undergraduate Research Journal, Appreciative Inquiry, Kids and Careers in the Human Sciences, Reflective Human Action, Mentoring, a Matter of Ethics, and Seven Wonders of the Socially Responsible World.
  • C-N's Kappa Beta Xi Chapter of KON has received 26 Chapter of Excellence Awards! This is more awards than any other KON chapter since its inception in 1980.

Adviser: Dr. Amber Roth

Spring 2017 KON initiates, current members, and FCS faculty and staff
Pictured left to right, back row: Dr. Amber Roth, Dr. Kim Johnson, Eliza Peterson (initiate),
Ellyse Culp (initiate), Maggie Melhorn, Taylor Lowe (initiate), Ashley Kay, Kaitlyn Cupples,
Aaron Waldrupe, Sarah Sharp, Kalan Inman, and Ms. Tammy Hickle.
Pictures left to right, middle row: Dr. Rae Dutro, Melanee Stone (initiate), Kylie Larkin (initiate),
Dr. Heather Whaley, Holly Knight, and Lindsey McVey (initiate)
Pictured left to right, front row: Kaitlyn Steele (initiate), Emily Wood, Dr. Kitty Coffey, and Hope Adkins.
Not pictured: Rachel Rowell (initiate)

Rankings & Recognitions View All