Apply NowGive Now

Alumni Awards

Distinguished Alumni Awards


Distinguished Alumni Awards The University’s highest honor for its graduates, the recognition is reserved for those men and women whose lives and work have met C-N’s exemplary standards through dedicated service, outstanding professional success or dedication to their alma mater, humanity or the body of Christ.

The 2012-13 awardees are Tennessee Senator Doug Overbey ’76 and noted playwright Joseph Robinette ’60.

To nominate a Carson-Newman graduate for a 2013-14 Distinguished Alumni Award, please use this form.

R.R. Turner Spirit of Carson-Newman Award

Over the course of 37 years as a member of the English Department faculty, 1951 alumnus Dr. Robert Randolph Turner set a high standard for what it means to love C-N by loving its mission, ideals and, mainly, its students.   Presented by the Alumni Association, The Spirit of Carson-Newman Award was established to recognize those whose commitment embodies such dedicated service.

The 2012-13 Turner Awardee is James A. “Jimmy” Hodges ’65, director of Safety and Security.

To nominate a current C-N employee for the 2013-14 Turner Spirit of Carson-Newman Award, please use this form.

Outstanding Young Alumni Awards

Selected through a nomination process, Outstanding Young Alumni are those who within 20 years of their graduation demonstrate exceptional achievement and honor C-N’s ideals of Truth, Beauty and Goodness.  Successful candidates also portend future positive contributions to their communities, humanity and/or C-N.

Nominations for 2013-14 considerations should be made using the form found here.


Alumni Awards – History

The Alumni Association has recognized graduates and friends of the University since 1961.  Awards have denoted those whose achievements, be they professional, civic, religious or humanitarian, have brought Carson-Newman honor and distinction. Recipients are selected by a committee of alumni and University representatives who screen nominations received from C-N graduates, faculty, administration, recognized chapters, or from friends of the institution. 

Previous winners can be viewed here